A restaurant that won’t serve the disabled

by workshyscrounger

I have just read about an Oklahoma restaurant owner who does not want to serve the disabled, welfare recipients, homosexuals and “freaks”.

He is said to routinely turn away customers he does not like:

Well if you work, you own a business, pay your taxes, you’re more than welcome here. If you’re on welfare, stay at home and spend my money, there. I don’t deal with these people walking down the street with no jobs on welfare.

Shocking, right? It doesn’t really affect me; not only because the restaurant is in America, but also because I cannot afford to eat out anyway.

What I need though is to move house. Time and again any decent accommodation comes with the NO DSS warning. The first question asked by the agencies is: what do you do for a living. Explanations that I am disabled and cannot work fall on deaf ears. No DSS.

We are the new Irish. Despite the laws against disability discrimination, there is nothing I can do. Apparently, it is ultimately up to the landlord to decide who can live in their flat. How is it different from a restaurant owner cherry-picking his clientèle?

