Save with Jamie

by workshyscrounger

Jamie Oliver is doing a programme on food poverty. The problem is that he does not believe in it.

The Naked Chef said: ‘I meet people who say, ‘You don’t understand what it’s like.” I just want to hug them and teleport them to the Sicilian street cleaner who has 25 mussels, 10 cherry tomatoes, and a packet of spaghetti for 60 pence, and knocks out the most amazing pasta. You go to Italy or Spain and they eat well on not much money. We’ve missed out on that in Britain, somehow.’

Here are my predictions as to what the programme will advise:

– use local markets they are cheap (we all live in London after all)

– splash out on olive oil, it’s healthy (not if you use a bottle a day)

– use cheap cuts of meat and slow cook them (I am yet to find those in my local supermarket and, sadly, there is no butcher here in non-London)

– fresh herbs will liven up any meal (yeah at 80p a pop, they are totally worth it)

With a bit of planning, you too can live on 50 pence a day (doesn’t matter that the recipe is three quid per portion – eat less and lose weight).  Just think and acquire some cooking skills. Food poverty? I don’t think so. You are just a lazy and incompetent if you think otherwise.

I am a glutton for punishment though and I will watch it. On the off-chance that just one of the recipes will prove affordable. After all, the Great British Budget Menu gave me corn fritters. At the same time, I do not hold high hopes that his low-cost recipes can be replicated here. Not to mention that his version of budget grub is probably a big birthday bash in my world.

